Language selection

Search

The New Economy Series: The Economics of Attention

Description

Our work, relationships, communities, and education are mediated by an expanding digital sphere. With so much data and information surrounding us, our attention is scarce, and the ability to capture it is lucrative.

New business models have emerged which deploy sophisticated techniques to target advertising to likely consumers and to design addictive platforms which hold our attention. There are many benefits to these new social and economic spaces, but they have also introduced new harms. Canada is not alone in grappling with the implications of this new space which can shape behaviour, curate to individual interests, and intensify existing differences.

The ninth event in the New Economy Series will explore key policy questions that have emerged through the attention economy and examine the role of government in countering harmful consequences to our individual and societal health.

Learn more about The New Economy Series.

Speakers

Moderator

Owen Ripley, Director General, Broadcasting, Copyright, and Creative Marketplace Branch, Canadian Heritage

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

National Indigenous History Month

This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about? (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Série sur les nouveaux enjeux économiques : L'économie de l'attention

Description

Notre travail, nos relations, nos communautés et notre éducation sont influencés par une sphère numérique en pleine croissance. Avec autant de données et d'information à notre portée, notre attention est limitée et la capacité à la mobiliser est lucrative.

De nouveaux modèles opérationnels sont apparus, qui déploient des techniques évoluées pour cibler la publicité à l'égard de consommateurs potentiels et pour concevoir des plateformes accrocheuses qui retiennent notre attention. Ces nouveaux espaces économiques et sociaux présentent de nombreux avantages, mais ils ont également introduit de nouveaux inconvénients. Le Canada n'est pas le seul pays à être confronté aux répercussions de ce nouvel espace, qui peut façonner le comportement, répondre aux intérêts individuels et intensifier les différences actuelles.

Le neuvième événement de la Série sur les nouveaux enjeux économiques explorera les questions politiques clés qui sont apparues par l'intermédiaire de l'économie de l'attention et examinera le rôle du gouvernement en vue de contrer les conséquences néfastes pour notre santé individuelle et sociétale.

Apprenez-en plus sur la Série sur les nouveaux enjeux économiques.

Conférenciers

Animation

Owen Ripley, directeur général, Direction générale de la Radiodiffusion, du droit d'auteur et du marché créatif, Patrimoine canadien

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :